I’m not the only one . . .

. . . who thinks that church is good for sketching. So does Lorraine Glessner. Her oh, what a world, what a world blog features a Sunday church drawing every week. From this morning’s post, an explanation:

i draw in church during the sermons. it helps me hear and retain the words. i usually begin by drawing the first thing i see-a piece of furniture, the shadows in the architecture, the pattern of someone’s shirt-and let the drawing take on a life of it’s own. most of the time, the object or pattern i started with isn’t recognizable. i only work on these drawings for one sermon and rarely work back into them. here’s one from a few weeks ago.

Glessner serves as faculty at Tyler School of Art Fibers & Material Studies.

About pcNielsen
Paul Nielsen founded The Aesthetic Elevator late in 2005. He owns a piece of paper, located somewhere in his house (not on the wall), stating that he earned a B.F.A. from the University of Nebraska around about 2001. While there, he studied studied architecture, graphic design and ceramics, graduating with a degree in studio art. Paul presently serves as communications manager for a small non-profit doing their print design and marketing. He spends as much time sculpting in his studio as possible — which is not nearly enough. Visit his website at pcNielsen.com.

2 Responses to I’m not the only one . . .

  1. Julie says:

    I enjoyed your previous linked blog post about just not feelin’ it in church.

    Not that I have any answers. I enjoy going to Mass but any time I have any expectation as I walk in the door, I find myself using most of the rite of the Eucharist to get over my disappointment. I don’t know what I was expecting anyway.

    Anyway. I’m curious; are you still feeling the same way?

    • pcNielsen says:

      The wife and I have been church hunting for almost a year now since moving. Granted we haven’t, at times, been extraordinarily diligent about it, but it’s been disappointing at best. I’ve almost written a post about the hunt multiple times but decided there just isn’t really anything to say.

      A friend rightly pointed out last year that part of being part of a local congregation is largely community and accountability. Another friend pointed out last month, rightly, that looking for a church home as an adult is a very different thing than looking in your college days, or even just-out-of-college days I might add.

      Suffice it to say expectations have not been met, and like you the Eucharist has been the most fulfilling part of a Sunday morning service for me, probably for years now. It’s been good for my wife too, although since she’s been on a gluten free diet the past two years not quite as much so.

      One would think with so many choices (generally speaking) finding a congregation / service that you (“you” as a couple, in our case, which seems quite a bit more complicated to me when I think of it then as a single adult) like or whatnot wouldn’t be so hard.

      But it is. At least for us and for quite a few people we know.

      If you didn’t see it, here’s a follow-up to my sketching in church entry: http://theaestheticelevator.com/2008/09/06/why-she-walked-out-of-church/

Leave a Reply

