Social media as marketing for art

My day job largely involves marketing and the internet. Thus, I try to keep up with the latest fashionable websites, at the least as a way to inform my online marketing ventures.

I joined Twitter more than two years ago, but never used it. Last month the boss and the wife began tweeting, so I thought I might tag along. When I learned about the plethora of tools now available that allow you to use Facebook and Twitter somewhat simultaneously, I decided to stick with it (Right now I’m using TweetDeck.).

I’ve learned in my relatively brief Twittering career that the website requires focus and moderation, self-editing in the boss’s words. It’s easy to get carried away, sharing every little detail about your lunch. How you couldn’t decide what to order. How there was a hair in your soup. That you tipped the cute waitress 25%. To the right kind of social scientist, these otherwise inane tweets probably hold a certain amount of value. To the rest of us, they’re simply inane.

Twitter, even the internet, is a very new technology. It’s users are, in essence, figuring out how to use it as they go. A lot of people deride the service. Millions more are using it and, despite the website’s notorious instability, it continues to grow at a phenomenal rate.

Earlier this week I somewhat timidly added links to my Facebook and Twitter profiles, to both the Contributors page on The Aesthetic Elevator and my bio over at pcNielsen.com, basically inviting the world to friend and/or follow me. I did this for one reason: To market the brand that is Paul Nielsen, mixed media sculptor.

As much as artists claim to despise the marketing side of their career, the need for a certain amount of (humble) self-aggrandizement is part of the gig. The advent of the internet puts certain tools at an artist’s disposal that make getting your name out there — wherever there may be — easier than in decades past.

I hope to make my Twitter feed something of a miniature Aesthetic Elevator. Such services are referred to as microblogs, after all. I’m starting out by posting a link to a Han Dynasty clay sculpture that my wife forwarded me.

dancer_met

Photo from the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

About pcNielsen
Paul Nielsen founded The Aesthetic Elevator late in 2005. He owns a piece of paper, located somewhere in his house (not on the wall), stating that he earned a B.F.A. from the University of Nebraska around about 2001. While there, he studied studied architecture, graphic design and ceramics, graduating with a degree in studio art. Paul presently serves as communications manager for a small non-profit doing their print design and marketing. He spends as much time sculpting in his studio as possible — which is not nearly enough. Visit his website at pcNielsen.com.

4 Responses to Social media as marketing for art

  1. Lee says:

    I think it is a good thing that you are using Twitter and other Social Media. When used correctly, Twitter can be very effective for artists or any professional for marketing, but especially to get to know others.

    If we look at Twitter just as a marketing tool, I think we are using it in vain, because Twitter is meant to build relationships, much like Facebook.

    • pcNielsen says:

      Agreed; the tools are best for networking, finding people with like interests. Things like TweetDeck and PeopleBrowsr are great for this (although I can’t get PeopleBrowsr to actually work yet).

  2. Lee says:

    I have not used PeopleBrowsr, but I do use the Twitkit extension for Firefox. If you use FF, that might be one to try.

  3. Sarah Irani says:

    I find Twitter so annoying that I can’t get into it. But, what the hey, I am totally obsessed with facebook. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

