Artists can be republicans?

From this morning’s Post Secret:

fake

The entry was followed by this reponse:

    —–Email Message—–
    Sent: Sunday, February 22, 2009 1:34 AM
    Subject: Re: Art Major and REPUBLICAN

    You’re not alone! I’m so excited to hear that there are others like me!

    But don’t feel like a “fake.” Celebrate it! Art is about diversity.

About pcNielsen
Paul Nielsen founded The Aesthetic Elevator late in 2005. He owns a piece of paper, located somewhere in his house (not on the wall), stating that he earned a B.F.A. from the University of Nebraska around about 2001. While there, he studied studied architecture, graphic design and ceramics, graduating with a degree in studio art. Paul presently serves as communications manager for a small non-profit doing their print design and marketing. He spends as much time sculpting in his studio as possible — which is not nearly enough. Visit his website at pcNielsen.com.

16 Responses to Artists can be republicans?

  1. Adam D says:

    hilarious! I’ve actually experienced much more of that sentiment post art school than during. I happened to land amongst a number of rather like-minded individuals at college. Only after graduating, and staying in the same art-school town, did I realize how much I didn’t fit in, ideologically. Not that I’d call myself republican. But certainly closer to that than democrat.

    • pNielsen says:

      My experience was probably similar. When I think about it, my classmate’s politics were probably quite leftish, but for whatever reason the subject never came up when I was around.

      Oh, and I don’t call myself a republican either, but the post card hits the stereotype on the head!

  2. Sam Kilroy says:

    Since TOTAL FREEDOM of expression (autonomy) is the desire of EVERY Artist then the Republican disposition of LESS GOVERNMENT INVOLVEMENT / CENSORSHIP) actually means that ANy Artist (that dares call themselves an Artist) IS at heart a Republican. Viva la autonomy!!!

  3. Lee says:

    It would be interesting to see a similar illustration that says “I am an art major and a fundamental Christian”.

    • craig says:

      I don’t have a religious painting finished yet, but I will be posting a couple strongly conservative prints for sale on the website I will be opening soon. Working on the stuff since I secured the domain. Time to get America back to the Right Side.

      Bless you,
      Craig

    • Kristina says:

      I am a Christian, republican, artist. Not in college yet, but I plan to major in art. But yeah, I feel so alone, I don’t know any other artists like me at my school, or where I grow up. Plus I live in a very liberal/democrat area. I just wish I knew more people like me.

      • Alex says:

        You will feel even more out of place in college/art school because of your views sadly. At the college I went to (VCU) they have a huge art school there and I have seen many normal art major freshman change from politically apathetic individuals, into tattooed pierced vegan bike-riding foaming at the mouth liberal activists atheists in less than a year to fit in and be cool. And this sucks because they throw good party’s and wont like you unless you look and act like them. I was strong enough not to turn into one of these morons but it is tempting, I feel like i’m out of the fun Richmond scene cause i never converted.

      • Aletha says:

        @ Alex

        The parties might not have been as jubilant as the participants were trying to make it seem. If you let yourself think that you’ve missed out on things, you are falling for their ruse. My suggestion would be to develop your own social circles among people whose views you share — in company where you can be yourself and not have to act a part to gain acceptance. I’m of another generation, but what you describe about VCU in particular does not surprise me based upon information I have about someone I know who attended the school in recent years (the daughter of a friend). Of this girl, she was definitely attempting to conform to the political expectations — very whole-heartedly — and contrary to what you might suppose was not enjoying the parties. On the contrary, she was miserable.

        Those who are going along to get along are paying a heavy price. And don’t you think they sometimes wonder what it must be like to have people really care? To be loved and accepted rather than being compelled to accept the group because it is “cool.”

        After “cool” is cold. And the coldness is not fun.

  4. craig says:

    I was looking for conservative painters. I searched conservative artists. Next I’m going to search conservative painters. I am currently working on some near-complete oil on canvas, and also, a website I got the domain for… to offer for sale prints. Very conservative-theme prints. I have ideas for more too. Glad you’re out there. Keep up the good work.

  5. Aletha says:

    I’m not an art major. I’m an artist (for over thirty years). I was not political at all when I was young, neither were my peers. The politicization of college has developed in more recent times. (Something to think about of itself.) But these days, I definitely find myself more in sympathy with Republican ideas.

    As to the question “can artists be Republicans” we already know the answer. Of course they can. Artists are a diverse demographic. It is the other side that pretends otherwise, that turns artists into stereotypes.

    Be intelligent, ask questions, look at life keenly, set high standards for yourself, and follow your own sensibilities as regards your work. And much the same goes for politics too — look for the truth.

    • Kristina says:

      Yes, I agree with this completely. I’m tired of stupid stereotypes all the time, and I always feel that the best way to look at anything is to explore both sides and figure out which makes more sense. And I think anyone can choose whatever they want, whether it happens to be the same view of a majority of people, or whether it seems like there aren’t to many that think like that person. As long as it honestly makes sense to you. People need to just hold on to what they believe in, despite whatever opinions are enforced on them or what environment they’re surrounded in. They need to be completely honest with themselves. In the end it’s not up to others it’s up to you, and you’re going to be pretty miserable if you base all your beliefs on the approval of others. Oh, and I am a Christian Republican artist….unlike most of the kids I sit in art class with.

  6. Kayla says:

    I am so glad to hear that I am not the only one. I went to the Savannah College of Art and Design and felt that I needed to hide my political views in order to maintain my grade point average. I also felt out numbered in my beliefs as well. Additionally, my BF is in the Army and I found myself constantly defending his beliefs and sefl sacrifice.

    • Kristina says:

      Wow, that sounds tough. Yeah I have a friend who is kinda turning out to be not as good of a friend as I thought she was. It’s fine that we don’t have similar politics or whatever…I mean I respect other people for their beliefs…but she didn’t return the favor. She’d always enforce her liberal beliefs and stir up arguments with me, and one day she really ticked me off because there were army members at our school and she constantly called them fags (She’s done this before). And of course she was too cowardly to say it to their face. I was incredibly furious at her and she tried to tell me “the army is for fags…they’re selfish people….army is suicide….” and it was hard to hear that coming from my own friend. I mean my uncle was in the army….and I have a lot of respect for them and she just trashed it. I yelled at her, and I defended them….but she would not shut up. It’s just tough…when you can’t even get respect for the beliefs you hold so close to your heart. I mean she tears me up everytime she tries to change me, because she “was” my own friend, and she treated me like garbage. I remember the first time I told them I was a republican, she and her brother actually denied it. They said “Oh no, you can’t be a republican…no” because they knew that they would automatically have some sort of added hatred towards me just because of my political beliefs. I mean, that was back when I first met her, so they barely even knew me. I’m just glad that other people like me actually exist in the world. I felt pretty lonely for a while.

  7. Amy Z. says:

    OMG I feel like the only black kid at an all white school. I know if I voiced my opinion I would lose work. No doubt about it. My so called “liberal” friends would disown me. I secretly listen to conservative talk radio- I hide my Glen Beck book my mother got me last year. Some peaceful free thinkers, aren’t they? I’m not religious, I am pretty socially liberal to a point, But mostly conservative, and it’s a Conley world. as 99% of my peers are liberal, and assume I am as well. There needs to be an anonymous support group…

  8. Aletha says:

    A lot of people who call themselves “liberal” really need to consult a dictionary so that they can discover that their attitudes are actually the opposite of liberalism: rather than being alive to a variety of ideas and to freedom, they are often autocratic, “my-way-or-the-highway” types.

    The tendency to apply peer pressure to enforce a code of ideology is furthermore a sign (or possibly a symptom) that they cannot defend their ideas with evidence and persuasion. Ironically today’s conservatives are more often the people who are classically liberal, i.e. those who incline toward freedom.

  9. Alex says:

    This is all so true and depressing!!

Leave a Reply

