High School Musical, cereal?

I’m just curious, who would actually purchase a cereal that’s called “High School Musical?”

There’s nothing food-like whatsoever about that name, real or implicit. It’s probably not the first time it’s been done, but have marketers (I’m one of them) no shame? This is positively absurd. If you must squeeze every dollar out of impressionable teenagers at least do it with some grace. At least act like you’ve tried to apply some elegance to your greed.

And on a completely different note, the phenom that has been High School Musical is interesting. When I was the age of the kids who’ve been eating this new series up, anyone who admitted to watching a musical would have been laughed out of the high school building. Personally, I’m not a big fan even as an adult, sans any juvenile peer pressure. I do like The Sound of Music and Fiddler on the Roof. Mama Mia was actually pretty good once I realized it was supposed to be melodramatic (although there were two or three completely superfluous numbers that significantly weakened the overall impression).

I know some people disagree with me strongly on this point (my wife, for one), but creating a movie β€” or play for that matter β€” where people so randomly break into song and choreography is hard to stomach. I don’t need everything in my film and literature to relate to something realistic, but a lot of musicals just seem off to me. Good stories ruined by random musical interjection.

About pcNielsen
Paul Nielsen founded The Aesthetic Elevator late in 2005. He owns a piece of paper, located somewhere in his house (not on the wall), stating that he earned a B.F.A. from the University of Nebraska around about 2001. While there, he studied studied architecture, graphic design and ceramics, graduating with a degree in studio art. Paul presently serves as communications manager for a small non-profit doing their print design and marketing. He spends as much time sculpting in his studio as possible β€” which is not nearly enough. Visit his website at pcNielsen.com.

4 Responses to High School Musical, cereal?

  1. techne says:

    what about across the universe? moulin rouge? dreamgirls, even?

  2. pNielsen says:

    I liked Dreamgirls well enough, but it was ABOUT music so the singing wasn’t as random IIRC. Thus it doesn’t really register as a musical in my head. Across the Universe was a cinematic disaster IMHO, more of a music video than a film. Moulin Rouge was interesting, but impossible to understand for this pea-brain.

    I don’t claim to be any kind of authority on any of this, it’s just my opinion. I know a lot of people have divergent and valid opinions on musicals, and that mine may be shortsighted. My wife pointed out that it’s probably Jr. Highers who’ve latched onto High School Musical more than high schoolers; I was going off of an NPR story from a few weeks back that I only half listened to though.

    Anyway, I’m open to intelligent arguments FOR musicals, so feel free to swing away!

  3. lamb says:

    I WOULD BUY IT ! it looks delicious πŸ™‚ so dont be mean. its cute πŸ™‚ and it has zac efrons face on it

  4. lexie says:

    this cereal tastes very good… if you do not like it… it is obvious that you have not purchased it… more obvious that you have never tried it… why did they remove it from store shelves, I will never know… does anyone have any idea where I can buy more…

Leave a Reply

