More pottery in paintings

My postman came to the door with a delivery over lunch yesterday, and as he and I are wont to do we chatted a while. Through unfortunate circumstances he’s ended up with a Timothy Tyler painting. Tyler is a very successful, from what I know of him, Siloam Springs painter.

After lunch I decided to look him up online again, as I couldn’t remember anything he’d done. After a couple minutes browsing his website I ended up on a gallery page full of still lifes. Almost every painting features what appear to be hand-made pots.

[Per the artist’s request, certain links previously included at the end of this post have been removed for the time being.]

About pcNielsen
Paul Nielsen founded The Aesthetic Elevator late in 2005. He owns a piece of paper, located somewhere in his house (not on the wall), stating that he earned a B.F.A. from the University of Nebraska around about 2001. While there, he studied studied architecture, graphic design and ceramics, graduating with a degree in studio art. Paul presently serves as communications manager for a small non-profit doing their print design and marketing. He spends as much time sculpting in his studio as possible — which is not nearly enough. Visit his website at pcNielsen.com.

2 Responses to More pottery in paintings

  1. Tim J. says:

    I took one of Tim Tyler’s local workshops. He seems a decent guy. I hope that maybe there was just a big misunderstanding regarding the workshop in question. I can see why people would sue over that, though.

    I hope things go well for him and his family, and for everyone concerned.

  2. pNielsen says:

    The whole ordeal is a little bit surprising, even though I don’t know the guy personally. Seems to me like it’s the kind of muddy water someone could find themselves in without intention, dealing with credit card banks and other such bureaucratic fine print . . .

Leave a Reply

