Hello, Architecture, Faith

Greetings to the world. As an introduction please allow me to spend a moment and tell about myself and why I am excited to join this forum on more consistent basis. I am an architect. More specifically, I am an architect who is continuously engaged in discovering how God works in the physical and artistic arenas, two areas most often viewed as peripheral, at best, to the Christian faith.

As I look back, the environment of my childhood home was subtly filled with artistic influences. My mom is quite talented in decorative painting and quilts while my father instilled in me a wonder for nature, primarily through camping and other outdoor activities, but also through his amateur photography. What is perhaps odd about this is that my mother is somewhat stoic and my father is a retired engineering professor (I am full blood Swede so go figure). This begins to illustrate how God formed my personality and drive. I have an undergraduate degree in construction management from John Brown University (1985) and a masters degree in architecture from the University of Minnesota (1991). I have spent most of my career to date working in the architectural field for firms in Siloam Springs, Minneapolis, Little Rock, and Fayetteville. Mix into that about a year and a half of experience working in construction. More recently (2001), I have entered into the academic world where I taught at the University of Arkansas school of architecture and am currently back at JBU teaching in the construction management department. Concurrently, there is my own fledgling architectural practice that is trying to gain roots in the community we reside in. In retrospect, I have been blessed with what I see as a balanced life education to date.

During the past four or five years however I have become more academic in my thinking, trying to specifically tie a belief in God with the design and construction of the built environment. 

Psalm 19 talks about the general revelation of God through creation and his specific revelation through scripture. The first four verses are as follows:

“The heavens declare the glory of God, and the sky above proclaims his handiwork.
Day to day pours out speech, and night to night reveals knowledge.
There is no speech, nor are there words, whose voice is not heard.
Their measuring line goes out through all the earth, and their words to the end of the world.”

(English Standard Version)

The goal of my teaching and practice is the creation of  places and spaces that reveal the measuring line of God. In future blogs I will share how I am learning to do that.

For now I will grace you with an image of the house we are building that is near completion.

2 Responses to Hello, Architecture, Faith

  1. Paul says:

    Welcome to The Aesthetic Elevator. We await your expertise and pontification on the built environment we so often take for granted!

  2. Tim J. says:

    Glad to make your acquaintance! The house looks terrific and very Frank Lloyd Wright-ish.

    How long has this taken you?

    I’ll be looking forward to more of your posts.

Leave a Reply

