Ceramic blogggggs

Yesterday I also decided I should be tracking with a few ceramic blogs, so I nosed around for these via Google as well. I already read Conscious, and occasionally organized, ramblings written by a ceramics professor at Wheaton University in Illinois.

In the midst of looking for other such blogs I found Emily Murphy’s blog. Murphy authored four posts specifically about other clay blogs:

Tour of blogs about pottery & ceramics
Tour of blogs about pottery & ceramics (Part 2)
Tour of blogs about pottery & ceramics (Part 3)
A semi-complete tour of ceramics blogs (Part 4)

Parts one through three are easier to stomach. The lists are shorter and include a brief description with photo. Part four is just one looooong list. I’ve looked through each post, but up to this point haven’t come across any new reading material just yet. I’m searching specifically for blogs that talk about, at least some of the time, sculptural ceramics as opposed to just pottery. A few have been interesting regardless. One posted a number of glaze recipes; another talked about barrel firing. But up to this point, no current, regularly posted on site appears to deal mostly with sculptural work.

I’ll keep looking. As I recall, Murphy lists in all 63 different websites. I might have opened twelve of them so far. I’ll add too that Emily’s own blog, while focusing (from what I tell at a quick glance) on pots, is as interesting as any of them. From what I can tell she lives in Colorado and does a lot of soda firing. Her finishes are wonderful, and there is a section in her gallery called “wall pieces.” The link to that page is broken, but I found a recent post with new work including some of these hanging sculptures.

About pcNielsen
Paul Nielsen founded The Aesthetic Elevator late in 2005. He owns a piece of paper, located somewhere in his house (not on the wall), stating that he earned a B.F.A. from the University of Nebraska around about 2001. While there, he studied studied architecture, graphic design and ceramics, graduating with a degree in studio art. Paul presently serves as communications manager for a small non-profit doing their print design and marketing. He spends as much time sculpting in his studio as possible — which is not nearly enough. Visit his website at pcNielsen.com.

One Response to Ceramic blogggggs

  1. Julie says:

    Hey, thanks for your visit to my site!

    Emily Murphy (and myself!) live and work in Chicago, IL. We’re both out of Lillstreet (http://www.lillstreet.com). Neat site you’ve got here!

Leave a Reply

