LinkLuv: 9 June

Hypermilers miss the point. Some do it for environmental reasons, others to protect the pocketbook. Regardless, if they are really worried about either of these things they will seriously consider — and if at all possible apply — lifestyle changes. That is, they will move closer to work, walk, bike or even buy a scooter. They don’t have to get rid of their cars altogether, but the extremes they are going to, some of them, merely dance around the issues.

The Vatican is looking for new artists. The Roman Catholic church is trying to recruit new artists “In an attempt to ‘lead by example.'” Their Council for Culture is setting up a committee “to find ‘world-famous’ contemporary artists it can commission to produce new religious and spiritual works.” Via Iconia.

Save yourself from MySpace. A new Firefox add-on warns you if you’re about to navigate onto a MySpace page. Too funny. Via TechCrunch.

About pcNielsen
Paul Nielsen founded The Aesthetic Elevator late in 2005. He owns a piece of paper, located somewhere in his house (not on the wall), stating that he earned a B.F.A. from the University of Nebraska around about 2001. While there, he studied studied architecture, graphic design and ceramics, graduating with a degree in studio art. Paul presently serves as communications manager for a small non-profit doing their print design and marketing. He spends as much time sculpting in his studio as possible — which is not nearly enough. Visit his website at pcNielsen.com.

6 Responses to LinkLuv: 9 June

  1. Tim J. says:

    Hypermiling is a lifestyle change. A very important aspect of hypermiling is the elimination of unnecessary trips by careful planning. My wife works in one town (where we live), I work thirty miles away. Moving would accomplish nothing. One wonders if the writer of the article (I don’t have time to read it now) would recommend that starving people in sub-Saharan Africa just make a lifestyle change by eating more.

    I thought saving fuel would be a manifestly good thing, even if driven by (scary music; “Bum-Bum- Bummmmm…”) Free Market forces (gasp!).

  2. Tim J. says:

    I also hope to comment on your other recent posts very soon… the ones on abstract art and the latest volley from “Shoutin’ Bill” Donohue. I’m just very busy, though.

  3. TAE says:

    Busyness isn’t all bad. Except when it keeps us from such interesting dialogue!

    Point taking with respect to Hypermiling. I know I came across strongly, and I know there are circumstances like yours in a lot of families. I didn’t dig too deep into the whole thing either, and was just responding to the NPR interview I cited. I try to be an open-minded New Urbanist, but sometimes my desire for the principles this movement aspires to get the best of me 😉

    One of the Hypermilers interviewed was extreme enough his wife took her own car, didn’t go with him to the same location. Kind of defeats the purpose!

  4. Tim J. says:

    I am more of a common-sense hypermiling kind of guy… I don’t get into the more eccentric manifestations. Sorry, I’m not going to push my car out of the garage. I’m taking a long trip soon, so it will be interesting to see what kind of mileage I can get out of my decade-old Plymouth Neon.

    I have posted a response to your other posts, with some pretty colorful language. I titled it “Aesthetic Escalator” since I sorta escalated the rhetoric…

    I just calls ’em as I sees ’em…

  5. Greg says:

    The problem with the hypermiling lifestyle is that you force your lifestyle on others who are behind you in traffic. Coasting 1/2 block to the stoplight, crawling at idle once it turns green. But then again it’s typical for today’s driving culture. “There someone who has waited to get out of a driveway, and there’s only one car behind me, I’ll force the car behind me to stop and then wait while the person in the driveway finally sees me waving him to get in front of me instead of just letting me and the last car pass.”

    “Hey I can save 15 cents driving this way, too bad about the people behind me”

  6. TAE says:

    Greg,

    I actually used to coast before lights if I saw they were red, or pace myself so I didn’t have to stop. But this had nothing to do with saving gas (back then gas was about $1 a gallon). I was trying to save my brakes :p

Leave a Reply

