Taylor University art department

I wandered through the Taylor University art building this afternoon and took a few photos of some interesting works with my cameraphone. The newspaper wasp nest was particularly intriguing. I’m also somewhat enamored with the tall, narrow painting of read flower-ish forms.

This is also a good excuse to try out the new gallery feature on WordPress 2.5; I’m not sure why the tool has spread the photos out like it has in Safari (on my own screen), somewhat randomly. Using Firefox on my wife’s MacBook, all of the thumbnails are in a row across the post. As I recall, this is how the WordPress demo showed them.

My impression was that these are all student works with the exception of the collage, which may have been a professor’s piece. The student works were in the hallway of the art building; the collage was part of a show in the college’s small gallery space. This is some pretty solid work from a student in my experience. Craft and concept are, very pleasantly, beyond what I’ve come to expect in recent years.

Adding: It seems this was, with the exception of the collage, a senior’s BFA exhibit. I learned this after going back to look at the aforementioned painting I liked so well. The painting was gone along with all of the other works, and another senior show was going up. Unfortunately the new works were covered in paper. The artist didn’t want them to be revealed until the 7 p.m. opening, which I wasn’t around for. I had half a mind to see how much (or, sad as it may be true, how little) I could purchase that painting for. Maybe I’ll call up to the art department if I remember. From what I can tell on the Taylor website, the name of the artist whose work I did see is Lindsay Schiller.

About pcNielsen
Paul Nielsen founded The Aesthetic Elevator late in 2005. He owns a piece of paper, located somewhere in his house (not on the wall), stating that he earned a B.F.A. from the University of Nebraska around about 2001. While there, he studied studied architecture, graphic design and ceramics, graduating with a degree in studio art. Paul presently serves as communications manager for a small non-profit doing their print design and marketing. He spends as much time sculpting in his studio as possible — which is not nearly enough. Visit his website at pcNielsen.com.

4 Responses to Taylor University art department

  1. Dan Buck says:

    What brought you to Taylor? It’s my alma mater, but very few peope end up there just passing through.

  2. TAE says:

    Recruiting from the CS department for my job; yeah, it’s not a place for just passing through.

  3. Dan Buck says:

    Ooh, but a good CS program, if I hear correctly.

  4. TAE says:

    That’s what we hope, and what we hear, and why I went up there.

Leave a Reply

