The Daily Monster

I’ve noticed for a while now that people like to post videos on YouTube (or the like) recording the creation of certain works of art, painting or drawing mostly in my experience. I came across a link to one such regular vlogger this afternoon called The Daily Monster.

[YouTube=http://youtube.com/watch?v=z2zsigMzBoA]

These monsters are wonderful illustrations. They remind me of my own doodles when I was still in school; and apparently these are the second hundred in the series (I’m featuring number 160 in this entry). The first hundred will be available in less than a week as a book you can purchase on Amazon.com.

While I appreciate the nod to process these videos display, I’ve yet to understand why anyone would want to record and post them let alone watch the them. By far, The Daily Monster is the most interesting of the group that I’ve seen. But I doubt I’ll be adding it to my own feed reader.

It’s worth noting the marketing potential in artist Stefan G. Bucher’s videos in relationship to his upcoming book. It costs him nothing (assuming he has a camcorder) to post them on YouTube; his blog is a part of his business website and likely doesn’t incur any extraneous costs either.

Generally, I’m not one for monsters — at least not most Hollywood-esque creations such as Alien and Predator, which are grotesque to a fault in my opinion. Bucher’s creations are, however, disarming if not lovable.

About pcNielsen
Paul Nielsen founded The Aesthetic Elevator late in 2005. He owns a piece of paper, located somewhere in his house (not on the wall), stating that he earned a B.F.A. from the University of Nebraska around about 2001. While there, he studied studied architecture, graphic design and ceramics, graduating with a degree in studio art. Paul presently serves as communications manager for a small non-profit doing their print design and marketing. He spends as much time sculpting in his studio as possible — which is not nearly enough. Visit his website at pcNielsen.com.

One Response to The Daily Monster

  1. We interviewed Stefan about the monsters on our podcast this week, and to answer your question, he does have a camcorder, although he started by just using a regular camera with a video setting. Since he has it set up on a tripod right in front of his drawing space, he’s never in the footage. His are the only ones I have watched with any regularity, but mainly because he has talent, and can draw and write upside down so you can see him working.

Leave a Reply

