In the Studio: 6 December

After two months of somewhat frantically working on the house, preparing it to sell, I’ve been able to mess around in the clay studio again the past few weeks. I don’t remember if I’ve said this here yet, but I am basically trying to start off where I left off five years ago — the last time I had access to a kiln before this summer. It took a month or more of playing around with clay to regain my “feel” for the medium, and after one moderately successful firing my hands are beginning to remember why they love clay.

6 December

These small works use a clay I haven’t worked much with called Brownstone. It was what was available this summer where I happened to be looking. So far I’m not very happy with it; it seems to crack easily, when used sculpturally, as it dries. I’m working on a small scale in hopes of minimizing these fissures. The works will be both wall-hanging and freestanding, mostly likely incorporating other media such as wood and metal in order to facilitate presentation. The forms are generally (read “loosely”) inspired by clouds, the prairie thunderstorms I grew up watching in Nebraska.

About pcNielsen
Paul Nielsen founded The Aesthetic Elevator late in 2005. He owns a piece of paper, located somewhere in his house (not on the wall), stating that he earned a B.F.A. from the University of Nebraska around about 2001. While there, he studied studied architecture, graphic design and ceramics, graduating with a degree in studio art. Paul presently serves as communications manager for a small non-profit doing their print design and marketing. He spends as much time sculpting in his studio as possible — which is not nearly enough. Visit his website at pcNielsen.com.

One Response to In the Studio: 6 December

  1. Pingback: In the Studio: 18 February « The Aesthetic Elevator

Leave a Reply

