I bought a kiln

After changing my major from architecture to fine art, I studied graphic design for a year and a half. I realized quickly I wasn’t going to learn all that much from the design professors at the time — all of whom were somewhat lazy — and because I could I switched my emphasis midstream to ceramics.

I really like clay. The medium suits me and the way I work sculpturally better than the many others I toy around with. I don’t plan to cease toying around with other mediums; another part of the reason I was drawn to the ceramics department was that it seemed to be where the mixed media people congregated. But I have been without access to a kiln since moving to Arkansas three years and eleven months ago. Two other opportunities in the last two or three years came and went because I couldn’t bring myself to cough up the asking price for a used model.

Yesterday I finally hacked up the cash — albeit less, by almost half, than the previous chances I let slide. Regular readers received a hint that I was walking the kiln-buying trail, again, last week. My lament still holds true; two bidders had their eye on this kiln and went back and forth — jacking up the price — for three days or so.

They’re probably disappointed today. I snatched up the kiln, assuming it’s in decent working order, for less than a quarter of its replacement value. In the words of a friend, I “sniped” the thing, waiting for the very end of the auction to launch my bid. This is appropriate Ebay strategy.

Now I have to figure out where to fire the thing, not having a 240v outlet in the house other than behind the dryer, which is under a countertop and not near adequate and necessary ventilation. And, of course, I still need to get it to Arkansas. The seller is delivering the Knight kiln (model 103 of this lesser known manufacturer) to my parents home in Grand Island tomorrow. My wife and I plan to be up there in the middle of May.

Here’s a photo from the seller:

1b99_1jpg.jpg

About pcNielsen
Paul Nielsen founded The Aesthetic Elevator late in 2005. He owns a piece of paper, located somewhere in his house (not on the wall), stating that he earned a B.F.A. from the University of Nebraska around about 2001. While there, he studied studied architecture, graphic design and ceramics, graduating with a degree in studio art. Paul presently serves as communications manager for a small non-profit doing their print design and marketing. He spends as much time sculpting in his studio as possible — which is not nearly enough. Visit his website at pcNielsen.com.

33 Responses to I bought a kiln

  1. Pingback: Personal budgets don't mix with sustainability? « The Aesthetic Elevator

  2. Pingback: Knight kiln model 103 « The Aesthetic Elevator

  3. kristin says:

    Have you been using your kiln? I have an opportunity to by the same model for $100. and haven’t been able to find any info on it except they (knight kiln ) went out of business 10 years ago. Just curious about the internal capacity and how well it works! thanks, kristin

  4. TAE says:

    Kristin,

    See these other posts about my use of the Knight kiln: http://theaestheticelevator.com/category/art/ceramics/

    They explain how my use of the kiln has gone and who you can buy new elements from (Euclids). IIRC, the interior dimensions of the model I have are 18×23.

  5. Janet says:

    I wish to sell a Knight Kiln Model 82 230V 4600Watt 20 AMP
    I am curious, if I may ask. How much you had to cough up for yours?

  6. Chery says:

    I just got a used Knight Kiln Model 82 – know where I could obtain an instruction booklet???? how is yours firing? Thanks!

  7. Spring Ott says:

    I have a Instruction Manual for a Knight Kiln model: 82 actually it is for models: 72, 82, & 103. I also have a Knight Ceramic Kilns Price List (effective 6-1-72) with the prices & Specifications for models: 72, 82, 102, & 103. Along with prices for Accessory Kits, Blank Rings, Full & Half Shelves, & Posts. Also I have the Instruction Manual for Kiln Sitter models: P & K.

    • Dan says:

      Spring Ott,
      Do you still have manuals?

    • A B says:

      Do you still have the instruction manual for Knight Kiln model 82? If so, how much are you asking for it, or a copy of it? Please reply to gscaasleson@hotmail.com

      Thank you.

    • llb says:

      I would also be interested in a copy of this book, if you are offering. Please let me know!

      lacebeall@yahoo.com

    • Sue B says:

      knight model 72 instruction manual would be great!

    • Dale Robie says:

      Do you still have the Instruction manual(s)? I have recently purchased a 103, and there was no manual available. I’d really be interested in a copy if you still have yours.
      ddrobie@gmail.com

    • Lill-Ann Hayden says:

      I would be interested in a manual copy for model 72. lahayden@q.com

    • Carol Morken says:

      I just got a knight kiln model 82 from a friend it has no instruction book could I purchase a copy?

    • Carol says:

      If you still have the Knight Kiln Model 82 Instruction Manual I would love to get a copy from you. Please Contact me at ccmorken@gmail.com.

      Thanks! 😀

    • Evelyn Hon says:

      I would love to get a copy of your manual. I would also be willing to pay you 10.00 for it. Could you make a copy by copying on your computor and e-mailing it to me. Or what ever way you can have a copy made for me. I have the Knight Kiln model 82 Sitter Kiln .and have loved it…I haven’t used it now in about 12 years, I did a lot of China painting while I lived in Florida. Now I want to give it to my daughter but don’t trust my memory on the operation. If it was just myself, I think I wouldn’t be that concerned and just wing it. But she will be using it differently than I did.

    • Debbie Whitsett says:

      I am inquiring about a copy of the instruction manual for the Knight Kiln. Please contact me with a price. Thank you

    • Jean says:

      Spring Ott,
      As so many others, I also need the instruction manual for my Knight Kiln. I have model 72 with a Kiln Sitter Model MFR-J, but I’d be interested in any info you might have. Please let me know.

    • amber larsen says:

      I need the manufacturers specifications/installation for Knight kiln model 102. Please respond.
      Thanks

    • char says:

      do you still have a manual?

  8. HJ says:

    I was given a Model 82T Knight Kiln recently from a friend. I don’t know much about kilns but have noticed some chalking (white dust) falling from the unit. Being an older unit I was concerned as to whether asbestos was ever used in these kilns. Does anyone have any info regarding this concern?

  9. Wanda says:

    I also have one in my basement that was left when I purchased the home, would like to get the instructions, manual or anything to help me understand how this thing works.

    • pcNielsen says:

      Wanda,

      What do you need to know? They are very simple machines as I stated earlier. I’ve never acquired instructions, but never felt the need for them either.

  10. Dawn Hamer says:

    If anyone has a manual for the knight kiln 82, I would like to purchase.

  11. 1 day short line touches 4980-5000 , with a stop 51 points , a target of 4850-4830 to leave.

  12. Todd says:

    Be nice if someone would have a online manual for the mod 82, Cause I also have one & would like to look at it also… if I happen to come up with a copy of it, I will let you all know & will scan that puppy .

  13. julia says:

    Having never run a kiln before and now owning a used Knight Kiln Model 82, I would really like a copy of the Manual. Anyone…. anyone…. Please… 🙂

Leave a Reply

